Happy New Year to the citizens of the Southland region. 2018 was a very busy year politically for us all. As a Write in Candidate, I was elected as the new Bremen Township Democratic Committeeman. Thanks to all who took the patients and time to write my name onto the ballot. Vernard Alsberry Jr. is a very difficult name to remember and to write. Again, thank you Bremen Township residents who supported my campaign.

Also, in 2018 the citizens of the State of Illinois elected a new Governor, JB Pritzker; Lieutenant Governor, Julliana Stratton; States Attorney, Kwame Raoul; Cook County Assessor, Fritz Kaegi; Cook County Commissioner Donna Miller and State Representative, Debbie Meyers Martin. The Cook County Democratic Party elected Cook County Board President Toni Prickwinkle as the first woman to be elected as President of the Cook County Democratic Party.

In the Southland region Frank Zuccarelli was elected as the 2nd Vice President of the Cook
County Democratic Party, State Senator Michael Hastings was elected Democratic Committeeman for Orland Township, Calvin Jordan Democratic Committeeman for Rich Township, Lori Wilcox Democratic Committeewoman for Bloom Township and Patricia Murphy Democratic Committeewoman for Worth Township. Congratulations to all the newly elected and reelected Democratic candidates. This is a year of change for the State of Illinois and the Democratic organization. Join us as we work to move our region and communities forward.

2019 will be a year of new opportunities as the April elections in the Southland are just around the corner. In Hazel Crest I am supporting the reelection of Hazel Crest First Party Candidates. Hazel Crest Village Trustees Ben Ramsey, Sandra Slayton and Mary Grant. In School District 144, I am supporting Candidates Jadie Peters, Barbra Nettles, Juanita Jordan, and Kathy Taylor. In School District 152.5 I am supporting Paul Flores, Kim Chalmers, LaKeyna Webb.

VOTE YES on April 2, 2019 to the proposition to replace the existing two (2) consecutive terms limit with four (4) consecutive terms limit for the offices of Village President, Village Clerk and Village Trustee of the Village of Hazel Crest, Cook County, Illinois. By putting the power of the vote back into the hands of the residents. Allowing them to decide who they wish to elect and for how long.


Finally, I am looking forward to working with other elected officials, clergy, residents and friends of our region. Regional Growth! Brings Regional Strength!

Best Regards,

Vernard L. Alsberry Jr.
Mayor Village of Hazel Crest
Bremen Township Democratic Committeeman